VINTAGE DESIGNER BRINGS HER OLD FASHIONED CLOTHING RANGE TO PRESENT DAY SHEFFIELD

Victory rolls, a multitude of pleats, prominent petticoats, and distinct collars: the 1950’s marked the beginning of a fashion frenzy showcasing the boldest colours and brightest patterns accentuating femininity in society more so than ever before.

Victoria Collins spoke to Lollo Boston Wilson, a former fashion student at Sheffield Hallam University, who brings this wartime era back to Sheffield with her vintage designs.

At only 21-years-old, Lollo has spent nearly half her life envisaging her own business in fashion, “I studied fashion at college and University for seven years. I draw inspiration from whatever catches my eye.”

lollo wilsonOriginally from Macclesfield, Cheshire, she admits she’s been fashioning up designs from the get go. “My mum taught me to sew from an early age so I’ve always been creating little things.”

But now she’s sewing the seams into her new business, with a fifties fashion collection tailor-made in Sheffield befitting to the wardrobe from a bygone era.

“I started thinking about having my own business when I was studying fashion at college; I think it stems from me wanting the freedom to do my own thing. So I thought starting something of my own would be the best way to go!”

“Mostly my products are for everyday wear, aiming to add a bit of vintage femininity to any wardrobe.”

But how long does it take to make these fifties style frocks? She says, “The design process is long and time consuming, from initial designs to fabric sourcing. However the actual manufacturing of a garment takes half a working day.”

Some of the designs are so unique that there is sometimes only one of it; “I buy fabric in short runs and nothing is mass produced.”

“Some products are completely one off, to others where there is only one available in each size.”

As a former undergraduate, she understands how to work on a shoestring budget and keeps her tailor-made designs reasonably priced for her target audience.

“All my tops are priced at £25, and skirts at £35. I try to ensure that I can keep my prices affordable and in line with high street shops.”

She admits she appeals mostly to “students and young creatives” looking for something that no one else will have.

“Hopefully in five years’ time I will have my own little shop in Sheffield. I love the idea that my customers can see how the garments are made.”

The self-styled vintage doyenne’ plans to expand her clothing line to more dresses and vintage inspired underwear. “I want to bring in original printed fabric designed by myself to expand my brand also.”

“This is my dream job! I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing, it would really be a dream come true to see people wearing clothing I have made.”

Visit Lollo Made in Sheffield’s Facebook page and check out her designs on https://www.facebook.com/pages/Lollo-Made-in-Sheffield/

Leave a comment